Q: Why does the button in my mobile device's settings say "Unlink Dropbox" despite me never linking my Dropbox?

Q: Why does the button in my mobile device's settings say "Unlink Dropbox" despite me never linking my Dropbox?

A: Because that's the only thing that button does--to link your device to your Dropbox account, follow the steps described above.